Encouraging a higher standard for Christian music

What Is Mercy?

I read something the other day which stopped me in my tracks. 

“In Psalm 103 we learn that God does not deal with us according to our sins. Try to maintain an imbalance of mercy and judgment–God is extremely imbalanced in this regard…1000 to 4! His mercy is to a thousand generations and his judgment to the third and fourth generations… Remember also that God’s compassions are new every morning. Make sure yours are likewise.” –MH

It put me on a trail of thought… something I had been thinking about for a few days after a discussion with someone I highly respect. We were talking about a situation where certain christians seem quite adamant to prove a backslider was wrong, and seem almost hell-bent on pushing this person lower and refuse to offer forgiveness. I commented that they are determined to be her judge in everything she does. Do believers really know how to express Mercy? We claim to have received Mercy, and many of us have. But do we readily extend mercy to others? Oftentimes we are too quick to judge others. I have witnessed occasions where Christians are quick to judge and castigate those who have fallen or backslidden and very slow to forgive or show mercy. I do not believe we are called to pass judgement on others. We are not called to judge, yet. Unto him who much is given, much is required. Are we truly living for Christ and living AS Christ would, if we are judging the sinner and backslider and condemning rather than extending a helping hand to pull someone out of the deep miry clay of sin and this dreadful world? God help us all!

I wonder what you think about this topic? Feel free to comment.

Why can’t we help other’s by pointing them in the right direction rather than pointing out all their faults?

HE BROUGHT ME OUT!

My heart was distressed ’neath Jehovah’s dread frown,
And low in the pit where my sins dragged me down;
I cried to the Lord from the deep miry clay,
Who tenderly brought me out to golden day.

Refrain

He brought me out of the miry clay,
He set my feet on the Rock to stay;
He puts a song in my soul today,
A song of praise, hallelujah!

He placed me upon the strong Rock by His side,
My steps were established and here I’ll abide;
No danger of falling while here I remain,
But stand by His grace until the crown I gain.

Refrain

He gave me a song, ’twas a new song of praise;
By day and by night its sweet notes I will raise;
My heart’s overflowing, I’m happy and free.
I’ll praise my Redeemer, who has rescued me.

Refrain

I’ll sing of His wonderful mercy to me,
I’ll praise Him till all men His goodness shall see;
I’ll sing of salvation at home and abroad,
Till many shall hear the truth and trust in God.

 

Comments on: "What Is Mercy?" (1)

  1. Those who condemn might be surprised to know, the Prophet put them together….

    Now, I ask you to come, with your heads bowed and in prayer. And while the choir sings with us, will you come? Come, sinner; I want you to stand around the altar, backslider, and backbiter. I want you to come and stand around the altar.
    In Christ’s Name, if you judge me to be His prophet, I tell you this, that in Christ’s Name, you’ll pay for your sins if you leave this building tonight without coming here and making things right before God. Now, if you believe me by vision, if you believe that God has spoke to me, and believe that He speaks through me, make your way to this altar, if you are not right with God. ~ 57-0302 And Then Jesus Came, WMB

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

