Encouraging a higher standard for Christian music

Everybody’s Favorites:


Hymns That Last <—– click here for list


Based on a survey of 28 mainline Protestant hymnals, from the late 1800s through the 20th century.

M a r c h 2 0 1 1 | C H R I S T I AN I T Y TO D AY

 

The Hymns That Keep on Going
The 27 worship songs that have made the hymnal cut time and again.
Robert T. Coote | posted 3/07/2011

Hymns That Keep on Going – An article from CT. “There are many ways to identify the most lasting or best loved hymns among American Protestants. But what would we find by looking at all 28 hymnals published by mainline Protestant denominations from the late 1800s to the present? Out of almost 5,000 hymns, how many would appear in all 28 hymnals?”

Frankly this list surprised me. Interestingly enough, Amazing Grace is not on the list. Please share your thoughts about this article and which hymns you were surprised not to find listed. Why do you think Amazing Grace (among other hymns) is not on this list? How many songs on this list do you know or sing in your church?

Comments on: "Everybody’s Favorite Hymns?" (4)

  1. Most of the songs I have never heard or maybe know them by name. It must be my Penticostal background?

    • Pastor Bill I.,
      Religious background definitely plays a role when anyone lists their personal favorites. It is interesting to note the article states a comparable series of hymnals from evangelical denominations from the late 1800s does not exist. Consequently the list is comprised from The hymnals of mainline denominations . Thank you for your comments. God bless you.
      -DM

  2. Interesting read indeed. The moment I saw the topic, Amazing Grace and Rock of Ages came to my mind. I find it strange that they are not in that top 27 list. I wonder why because for me, at least those two can’t miss in my top 5 list of favorite hymns.

    • Dear Halimah,
      Amazing Grace and Rock of Ages immediately came to my mind too. It is incredible to me that neither hymn made this list. Thank you for your comments.
      God bless you.
      -DM

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

