Encouraging a higher standard for Christian music

That little chorus, “Jesus Loves Me,” has no doubt influenced more children for Jesus Christ than any other chorus or hymn. The lyrics were written by Anna Warner and published in 1869 in her best selling novel entitled Say and Seal, and the refrain was later added by songwriter, William Bradbury.

   It was just a poem in this novel, spoken by one of the main characters as he comforted a little boy who was dying. The were simple lyrics, but to the point.

Jesus loves me! this I know

For the Bible tells me so;

Little ones to Him belong,

They are weak but He is strong.

Yes, Jesus loves me,

Yes, Jesus loves me,

Yes, Jesus loves me,

For the Bible tells me so.

 

   This little chorus has not only affected children, but adults of all ages as well. Three is something soothing and powerful about this reminder of God’s unfailing love through Jesus Christ. It does not get any simpler, or richer, than that – Jesus loves me!

   The love of God is not just some principle; it is a person. It is not some ethereal feeling from God; it is real fellowship with God through Jesus Christ.

   Bank on it; depend on it; be persuaded by this word from God!

   You are eternally secure because God, the Creator of everything, stooped to die for everything about you, so that nothing can now separate you from His everlasting, comprehensive, secure love.

   Charles Spurgeon, on his deathbed, said to some of his final visitors, “As time has passed on, my theology has grown more and more simple. It is simply this, ‘Jesus loves me!”’ That is it!

Jesus loves me! this I know,

For the Bible tells me so;

Little ones to Him belong,

They are weak, but He is strong.

Yes, Jesus loves me…

The Bible tells me so!

 

Written by Dr. Stephen Davey,
President and Professor of Practical Theology;
Shepherds Theological Seminary
Comments on: "Jesus Loves Me, This I Know" (1)

  1. Incredible story there. What happened after? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

