Encouraging a higher standard in Christian Churches

 Thank you, Brother Neville. As I said this morning, it’s always good to 
come to the house of the Lord. I was kind of in the notion of calling the 
little misses here tonight to sing a song that I heard her singing in my 
house the other day. I believe we still got time for it if she isn’t too 
backward. Miss Jeffries, what do you think about that, that little song 
that you sang over there; I come in, and heard it being sung, and I liked 
it real well. And I hope I’m not embarrassing you to ask you to sing it 
again. “Tell Me His Name,” or something like that. Is that it? I’d like 
to hear it again. I know you’ll all enjoy it. 

  → [click to listen as Sister Jeffries sings “Tell Me His Name Again.”]

  TELL ME HIS NAME AGAIN

(George Bennard)

They tell me of love’s sweet old story.
They tell me of a wonderful name.
It thrills my soul with its glory.
It burns in my heart like a flame.
They say He’s the one that so loved me,
That in Heaven He could not remain;
He came down to seek and to save me.
Oh, tell me His name again.

CHORUS:

Oh, tell me His name again
And sing me the sweet refrain
Of Him who in love, came down from above
To die on the cross in shame.
This story my heart has been stirred,
The sweetest I’ve ever heard,
It banishes fear; it brings hope and cheer,
Oh tell me His name again

They say He was born in a manger,
That there was no room in the inn;
And in His own world was a stranger,
But loved us in spite of our sins;
They said that His path led to Calvary,
And one day He died there in shame.
He gave His great life a ransom.
Oh, tell me His name again.

They call Him the sweet Rose of Sharon.
They call Him the lily so fair.
They call Him the great rock of ages.
They call Him the bright morning star.
He’s a prophet, a priest, and redeemer,
The king of all kings He now reigns.
He’s coming in power and glory.
Oh, tell me His name again.

Oh, I just love that. I love His name. You know what caused me to think 
that, to have that little lady to sing it? She’s a little school chum to 
my little girl, Rebekah. I was back the other morning doing something in 
the room, and I heard that singing, and I thought, “Well, I will just 
have her to sing that at church sometime.” On the road down, I’d taken 
the children to school, and I spoke to her about the singing. And she 
said, “I just raised up some. . . .” I might not say it in the same 
words. But she said, “I raised up the other night, and was in the bed, 
and was thinking of that song. And I got such a blessing.” Well, I 
thought that’s outstanding for a teen-age girl, talk about the Holy 
Spirit blessing them, especially in this community, in this city. 
We need more teen-age girls like that. We do. And this other little girl 
that just sang, too, here a few minutes ago (I don’t know her name) but 
enjoying those children, little teen-aged girls singing. You know, the 
walk that we make makes an example for others. It really is.

What Does Thou Here? | A sermon preached March 1st, 1959 
in Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA by William Branham

 


Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

